1 week down, 3 weeks to go!

Posted: April 7, 2010 in Uncategorized

After completing the first week of my Kettlebell challenge, I am highly encouraged by the results I have seen in just a single week!  I am noticeably stronger and my muscles more solid.  Deltoid striations are much more visible.  My inner calves (medial gastrocs) are more defined.  My glutes are talking to me every morning.  Overall, doing Kettlebells everyday has been great for muscle definition.

As far as flexibility and my yoga practice, the Kettlebells have also helped.   Today I took the same yoga class I did last Wednesday, and although my body was tired from a solid week of Kettlebells, I was definitely stronger in class.  I was holding poses longer, I was balancing better and longer, had more steadiness between poses, and I even think my overall flexibility was better.     

At this point I’m not sure if it’s helped my distance running or drills.  Probably too soon to tell, but i do feel like I’ll run hills stronger.  I’ve committed to running up the Smith tower next year with the firemen… (!!!)… so I’ve still got a year to train for that.  But May 29th is my first trail run of the year, so we’ll see…

More tomorrow…

k.

Comments
  1. Michael says:

    Kate, yuou are the animal when it comes to training! Gung ho all the way. Seven straight days of kettlebells is a monster of a workout. How are those get-ups going? Which side is stronger? I am right handed and have found that my left side is stronger on this exercise! I have no clue why? Either way, it hurts so good!! Not!!!
    Remember when doing the figure eights, to start with you bell at chest height and throw outward and under the opposite leg, swithch hands and bring up to the opposite hand at chest height.
    Keep up the good work and you can chase those fireman up the tower next year! Power to the bells!!

Leave a Reply

