Kettlebells on vacation…

Posted: April 12, 2010 in Uncategorized

I took a long weekend at the beach and brought the kettlebells with me.  I’m not going to kid myself, it was a lot harder than I thought it would be to fit a 30-minute workout in every day.  There was no Internet, but still lots of distractions.  Especially the well-timed low tide that followed the big pancake breakfast.  Now this is every explorers dream!  Particularly if you happen to be hanging out with a certain 3 year-old boy who wears an eye patch and talks like a pirate.  

So, I had to get creative with my workouts.  I found a 20-minute routine that supposedly burns over 400 calories, so when you’re tight on time, this is a good modification to the everyday grind.  I’ll post the details of that routine tomorrow.  Additionally, I tweaked this 20-minute program to fit my level of skill as well.  It’s just not possible for me to do 20 sets of Snatchs with 12kgs, for instance.  But it is possible to do alternating sets of Cleans and Presses with 8kgs for 20 minutes, and I keep my heart rate just as high by taking fewer rests.  I’ll detail it all out tomorrow…

So far so good… at 13 days into my 30-day challenge, I’ve got only one gripe:  Callouses.  But I’m getting good results, so on we go!

By the way, I hope to post a few pictures tomorrow.  The ferries crossing the Puget Sound in the late afternoon sun provided a nice backdrop for some action shots of the figure 8’s and swings and cleans, etc… so maybe these will pass as my “before” shots!

’till tomorrow,

k.

Comments
  1. Elliot says:

    You rock honey! Love those tight muscles!

Leave a Reply

