Kettlebells and Yoga Stretches

Posted: April 25, 2010 in Uncategorized

I’m working on a few new Kettlebell exercises today: The Plank Push-Up and the Side Plank with added Row.  It’s supposed to be sunny and 60’s tomorrow, so I’ll take some pics outside to illustrate these two exercises.  I also want to work on the Two-Handed Release.  I haven’t been practicing this indoors because the exercise involves letting go of the kettlebell and catching it again… so that’s definitely one for the yard!

Tonight I mixed in some yoga poses between sets for some added stretching.  The Toe Stand Pose works really well with the green kettlebell on the floor to hold on to while you allow yourself to sit into the pose.  Without the 105 degree temps, your body doesn’t just slide into that position like it does in class, so the kettlebell helps.  But I like this pose because it strengthens your knees and abs, both of which I’m working on.  The other yoga pose I added tonight was the Plow.  Before kettlebells, I had a very hard time getting into this pose.  Usually my upper abdominals would cramp up before I could get my toes to the ground.  Today… success!!  I am sure this has something to do with the fact that I’ve been working my abs and obliques everyday for the last 25 days and they’ve finally surrendered!

I’ll try to take some pictures of the yoga poses as well.  I was going to post some pictures I found on-line, but everything seems to be copyrighted material… so I’ll create my own and avoid the conflict!

Toe Stand Pose

In this picture I used the kettlebell to stabilize myself and then I brought my hands to my
chest for the traditional Bikram Toe Stand Pose.

 

 

More tomorrow…

Peace,
-k.

Leave a Reply

