Support your Immune System: Countdown to Race Day

Posted: March 6, 2011 in Uncategorized

It’s two weeks before race day… and everyone around you is coughing and sneezing… and it’s becoming increasingly important to stay healthy.  How do you continue to train hard every day, yet keep from feeling run-down and possibly getting sick? 

I’ve been reading up on this because I have two children in school who come in contact with everything… and then they bring it all home!  We need to boost our defenses!   But I don’t like spending too much time thinking about it, or spending too much money on things that don’t work.  And I don’t like the idea of drastically changing my diet either.  Supporting your immune system shouldn’t become a big task.  I’ve done pretty well by simply adding a few “little extras” to what I’m already eating, and I’m stepping it up a notch in the weeks before race day. 

Here are my suggestions (secrets!) to stay healthy: 

  • Drink a small glass of Kefir (probiotics), or add it to your yogurt in the morning.
  • Add about 40-50 drops of Echinacia/Goldenseal to your orange juice. 
  • Add a tablespoon or two of Whey Protein powder to your oatmeal after it’s finished cooking.  Add fresh strawberries for extra vitamin C. 
  • Add a teaspoon or two of Green Match Powder to your afternoon tea.
  • Add raw kale to almost anything (smoothies, salad, veggie saute, etc.) 
  • Take a tablespoon of Manuka Honey (active 15+ or more) several times a day and let it dissolve under your tongue.  I am partial to the “Healing Honey” brand from New Zealand.
                       

Also, don’t forget about some very old, but highly effective, remedies:  using a Neti Pot and a tongue scraper every morning!  Try it out… so far, so good… my whole family has successfully managed to avoid getting sick throughout the entire fall and winter with the above additions!

Be well,
k.

Comments
  1. Thanks for these suggestions! I’m convinced that Vitamin D has helped the family stay as well as we have. I’ve been relentless about hand-washing, too. At church, after we all shake hands, I spray our hands with a lavender-scented alcohol cleanser. (It seems a bit extreme, but whe we don’t do that, sure as shootin’ I get a cold 2 days later!)

    And sleep. Ohhhh, sleep. I’m off to get some now.

Leave a Reply

