Believe it… or Overcome it!

Posted: April 8, 2011 in Uncategorized

Never Say Never!

Today I did 3 sets of barbell squats at the gym.  That may not seem earth shattering… but I’ve had a few knee injuries, and I’ve had my share of people say “Oh, you’ll never do that again!”… so today I am basking in my accomplishment… but I’m also thinking about all the random bullshit that gets said to people after an injury… and how many times those people believe it vs. how many times they overcome it.

Not only was I “told” I’d never do a freeweight squat again, I’ve also been told I’d never ski again… and I just got back from tearing up some double-blacks in Park City… so this post is about perseverance and will power.  Hell, even the docs in the ER told me I’d never ski again and I might as well hang it up.  (truth is, I think they liked my Volkls)  But the fact is, I didn’t listen to them, and I certainly won’t listen to anyone who starts their sentences with “You’ll never… blah, blah, blah…” 

Keep moving, keep pushing it.  An injury thrives on inertia.  It’s really a basic rule of physics, right?  A moving object tends to stay in motion…  something like that.  If you lay around… chances are… you’ll have a harder time getting up and moving again.   Oh… and just for the record… physical therapists are worth their weight in gold, as far as I’m concerned.  After an injury they are vital to the healing process, because a good one won’t let you lay around!

Kettlebells are not only a great ballistic exercise, they are a great way to strengthen muscles throughout the entire body, which in turn will support any injured tendons/ligaments, etc.  Don’t underestimate the amount of support that strong muscles can offer to torn ligaments.  I’ve torn both of my ACL’s and have not had surgery… (a story for another day)… and I’m happy to say that I didn’t listen to all the various “expert” opinions out there.  As I’ve said before… It’s your body and only you know what you’re capable of.  Only you know your own inner strength and inner convictions to overcome and excel!   Mind-Body is strong… believe it and you can achieve it!  Just like the barbell squats at the gym… it feels amazing to be back!

Have a great weekend!

Peace,

Kate

Leave a Reply

