Burpees and Kettlebell Situps… the perfect pair!

Posted: June 7, 2011 in Burpees, kettlebell situps, quick kettlebell workout, Vegas Workout

In my last post I introduced the Vegas Workout.  Whew! … that took a lot of time, so today I am going to suggest a quickie:

10 Burpees

10 Kettlebell Situps

20 Burpees

20 Kettlebell Situps

30 Burpees (you can do it!)

30 Kettlebell Situps

Then work your way back down… we’re still pyramiding here.

Beat me!  If your abs aren’t screaming, do it again and let me hear about it!

Music this evening… a little vintage Keith Urban from 2002, turned up loud.

Keith Urban in concert, 2007

Image via Wikipedia

Peace,
Kate

Comments
  1. Body Workout says:

    Can you explain how to do KB situps? Shall I chest press and then situp just like in TGU? Thanks.

  2. Yes, thanks for writing. The way I like to do it is I lie on the floor, knees bent, feet on the floor. I hold the kettlebell with both hands, cradling the bottom of the bell (so that the handle is straight up facing the ceiling). Then I roll up, one vertebrae at a time, lifting the bell like one of those “swan” push ups, so at the end of the movement my arms are straight and the bell is high in the air above my knees. (keep feet flat on the floor throughout the whole movement)

    Another version to try is to start with your feet off the floor (calves parallel to floor) and your back off the floor (a “modified “V” position) You are balancing basically on your bum, everything else is lifted up. Start with the bell over your knees, holding it the same way as before, and then lean back with the bell as you lower your legs. The come back up to your balance position.

    Try alternating between these two!

    The Turkish Get Up is one of my favorite exercises, but I feel like the movement is different, a bit more angled, focusing on alternate sides as you switch which leg is straight and which is bent, and which hand holds the bell.

    Hope that helps! 🙂
    Kate

  3. Body Workout says:

    Thanks for explaining it so clearly and for the prompt response! Gonna try it right now.
    Best, Pawel

Leave a Reply

