Don’t reject it just because you don’t understand it.

Posted: August 30, 2011 in cast iron strength, exercise, Kettlebell, kettlebellhell

These days it seems that everyone is “busy”.  Too busy, in fact, to take the time to understand things at a deeper level.  I believe we have reached the tipping point on this “busy” excuse because it’s starting to impair people’s judgement.  Whether it’s politics or exercise, everyone has an opinion… I just wish people would “seek to understand” a bit more than they “seek to be understood”.

I stumbled upon this quote “Don’t reject it just because you don’t understand it”… and it immediately resonated with me.  I found this just when I needed it (don’t you love it when that happens?)   Here’s the deal, a few days ago I had a bit of a dialogue with someone who was fervently against kettlebells.  As passionate as I am about them, he was against them… and with great anger.

This was upsetting because it was obvious he hadn’t taken the time to understand:
1. The origins of the kettlebell,
2. The efficiency of the exercises, and
3. The sheer perfection of the movements. 

If he had, he would understand why kettlebells are enjoying a resurgence, and rightfully so!

He dismissed them as a fad (never mind that they have been around for centuries!) and as someone who has been swinging kettlebells since “before they were cool”… I reject this premise!  Dismissing something because you simply don’t understand it, or perhaps feel threatened by it, is doing yourself a disservice.  And then jumping on the “it’s just a fad” bandwagon is a cop-out.   Are we all really “too busy” to take the time to understand things at a deeper level?

I know I’m preaching to the choir here, because we are all kettlebell fanatics… but this topic is a bit timely with election season starting up for 2012!  The rejection of ideas without fully understanding them will be in full swing soon with Republicans and Democrats at each others throats… wow, but I just never thought I’d see such passionate hatred for a kettlebell!

Peace Out,
Kate

Comments
  1. “The rejection of ideas without fully understanding them will be in full swing soon…”
    That definitely sounds like a kettlebell analogy! I wonder what prompted such ire on the part of the person with whom you tried to have a conversation.

Leave a Reply

