“Poor Me” is not great.

Posted: February 18, 2012 in Uncategorized
Go for Your Life (album)

Image via Wikipedia

The top excuses for why people don’t exercise are:  “I don’t have time”, “I’m too tired”, and “It’s too hard”.  Blah, blah, blah…

Instead of excuses, what are you goals?  What are you working toward?  What inspires you?  When you find something that inspires you, it’s worth working at, right?

How do you get from inertia to inspiration?  Results.  How do you get results?  Kettlebells!  (you knew that was coming, right?!)

Now that we’ve gotten that out of the way, give me your vision.  Where do you want to go from here?  What is your mountain?  The mountain is the metaphor.  It represents your challenge.  Are you going to quit before you arrive at the top?  Or are you going to work for it?  Keep climbing.  There is a reward at the top.

But it is not the mountain we must conquer, it is ourselves.

We are living in the midst of a “poor me” culture.  “Poor me. My circumstances are more than I can bear.”  People walk around and use it like it’s some kind of “free pass” for their behavior.  “Oh, poor me, look what I went through, now you know why I’m in the situation I’m in, or why I act the way I do.”  Nonsense.  Whatever happened to picking yourself up by your bootstraps and working hard at something?

We can find a million reasons not to do something, but the real reason?  Avoidance.  Looking back on our lives, we tend to regret the things we never tried, instead of the things we did.  Avoidance is fear-based.  Did you know that avoidance is the number one ineffective stress coping technique?  People rationalize: “I’m stressed about this, so I might as well avoid it altogether.”  This is why every motivational speaker says the same thing: “Always do what you are afraid to do.”

Here’s what I know: Poor me is not great. Poor me is not strong.  Poor me is not successful.  Okay, you went through something .  Now put it behind you, don’t let it define you, and take responsibility for your life.  This is not a dress rehearsal!  Get out there and do it!

Now go swing some kettlebells, and let your physical strength build some inner strength!

Peace Out,
Kate

Leave a Reply

