Don’t go No-Fat… Go Good-Fat!

Posted: March 5, 2012 in Uncategorized
Tags: ,

The Big Climb is 3 weeks from yesterday. I’ve decided to step up the kettlebells to everyday again, and add a few things to my diet over the next few weeks so I can give those Seattle firefighters a run for their money!

I recently heard someone talk about the benefits of healthy fat and Omega 3-6-9’s, which prompted me to do some more reading up about their benefits (see a few articles below).  I figured, as long as I have this race coming up, why not try bumping up my 3-6-9’s, eat an avocado a day, and see what happens.

I’m going to maintain my normal balance of carbs, proteins and fats (I’m not an advocate of cutting out good food), and I’ll keep up the fruits and veggies, but I’ll also add at least one serving of “good fat” to every meal (monounsaturated and polyunsaturated fats) and supplement with an Omega-3 deep-sea fish oil.

“Good Fats” are important to overall health, mood and vitality… and they can lower your LDL (bad) cholesterol levels too.  Also, our bodies cannot produce essential fatty acids on their own, so they need to get the EFA’s from food.  These are all good reasons to add good fats into your daily diet.

How does this new “diet” look?  A typical breakfast, lunch and dinner could be something like this: Breakfast: A protein shake as I run out the door, enhanced with fish oil. (maybe a slice of turkey too just to get some extra lean protein.) Or oatmeal with fruit and nuts and flax, along with a scoop of protein powder added in at the end. Lunch: Salad with some tuna, avocados and walnuts. Dinner: Salmon, rice, broccoli, spinach salad with avocados (add a bit of olive oil mixed w/fish oil).

Why am I doing this?  Just to see if I can get up the Columbia Tower stairs in less than 12 minutes.  Kettlebells everyday should help… and we’ll see about the fish oil!

Here are a few articles I found interesting:

http://www.helpguide.org/life/healthy_diet_fats.htm

http://www.livestrong.com/article/429215-avocado-vs-salmon-for-omega-3-levels/

http://www.spreadthefacts.com.au/butter-or-margarine/good-fat-vs-bad-fat.html

Peace, and happy eating!
Kate

Leave a Reply

