The Big Climb… Results!

Posted: May 1, 2012 in cast iron strength, Kettlebell, kettlebellhell
Tags: , ,

Happy May Day!  It’s great to be back!  Wow, time flies… it’s been over a month since the Big Climb and I just realized I didn’t post my race results!   I took some time off to recharge my batteries and spent a few weeks on the east coast soaking up some sun on the beaches of Cape Cod and North Carolina. (well, not too much sun on Cape Cod yet… but still lovely!)Anyway, the big news is I beat my time from last year with a 12:57 finish!

My final results shake out like this:

Top 7% overall women
Top 8% women in my age group
Top 20% overall men and women

But even landing a spot in the top 8% still didn’t put me in a top 10 category (or even top 20) for my age group. (I came in 26 place out of 312).  Turns out that there are lots of fit women ages 40-49!  So next year, I have new goal… how about top 5% in my age group?

In the meantime… there are other stair climbs!  In fact, when I was visiting Cape Cod, we went to one of my favorite places, Provincetown, and it turns out they have a stairclimb up the Provincetown Tower… Run to the Top, May 5th, 2012, up the Pilgrim Towner.  It’s a benefit for the Cape Cod Firefighters and EMS Cancer Relief Fund.  Wish I could be there… maybe next year.  Hmm… but perhaps Chicago?  NY?  It is hard to think that I have to wait a whole year to run stairs again.  Road trip…!!

Pilgrim's tower - Provincetown - Cape Cod - Ma...

Pilgrim’s tower – Provincetown – Cape Cod – Massachusetts – USA (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I’m 20 days away from my next race, Beat the Bridge, and I’ve started a new kettlebell class with Dr. Dan.  It’s every Wednesday, my first class was last week and I was sore for days afterward… it’s Awesome!!!  I will write more about that class and the exercises we do in forthcoming posts… but for now… it’s time to put sliders on the grill…

Peace,
Kate

Comments
  1. jackdaneal says:

    Happy for you!
    Your blog is an inspiration..

Leave a Reply

