Part 2… How I got motivated to run!

Posted: September 12, 2012 in Uncategorized

From my last post… here’s how I got motivated:

I spent about 15 minutes to do the following, and then I was ready to run… sore muscles and all!

I took a hot shower to warm up my muscles and immediately afterward rubbed on this crazy stuff pictured below… Zheng Gu Shui… I put it anywhere my I had muscle soreness.  Love this stuff!  My old acupuncturist would use this after he did the needles, and it felt amazing… check out this link:   http://www.amazon.com/Zheng-Shui-External-Analgesic-Lotion/dp/B000MWO3IG

Zheng Gu Shui External Analgesic Lotion - 100ml (3.4 Fl. Oz.)

Anyway, then I rubbed on the Arnica Massage Oil, took 2 BCAA’s, Bee Pollen and Energy Herbs… and a glass of water.

Ok, I know what you’re thinking… well, I’m not totally hippy-dippy-homeopathic-naturalistic-remedy-girl… Surprise, I took 2 Advil also!

Got my music, Got my Garmin… and voilà… out the door!

Here’s what happened:

I did a 1/2 mile warm up run, then I did a round of three 1/2-mile sprints (each time trying for a better time).  Then I did a round of four 1/4-mile hill runs (again, trying to get faster each time), then I finished with a slow 1-mile run home.   Totalled only about 4 miles, but it was intense and I was glad I got out there and did it.  Hill work and sprints together challenge your fast-twitch muscles and get your heart-rate up super quick!

Next time, I’ll increase the distance to five 1/2-mile sprints to add in another mile.

Oh, and here was the view from my hill runs.  This is why I live here.  The Space Needle motivates me… I just love it!!!  Peace, K.

Leave a Reply

