Protein-Loading

Posted: September 17, 2012 in cast iron strength, exercise, kale and eggs, Kettlebell, kettlebellhell, Protein Loading

I’m increasing my intake of protein this week to 188 grams daily.  It’s my last full week of hard-core training before the Tough Mudder… so I’m trying out a little “pre-race protein-loading”!

Usually, an easy way for me to figure out how much protein I should get is by multiplying 1 gram of protein per pound of body weight.  This is a good rule of thumb for active people.  For me, this is 125 grams of protein per day.  However, during this week of highly intense exercise, I’m bumping it up to 1.5 grams/per pound, which is now about 188 grams of protein a day.

In the US, the Department of Agriculture (USDA) sets an RDA (Recommended Daily Allowance).  For most adults, it’s only about 50 grams.  People on high-protein diets obviously increase this number… and some body builders will even increase this amount by six to seven times this number!  I recently read an article where one guy was taking in 350 grams of protein a day (I’m not sure how), but perhaps he was a lot heavier than I am, and when you do the math at 1.5 grams/per pound that’s what it could be.  He was having good results with it (lost fat, gained muscle definition) but he definitely cautioned that not everyone would get the same results he did.

Anyway, from my research on protein, lean meat generally provides about 7 grams of protein per ounce.  So an 8 oz. steak would have about 56 grams of protein.  I’m getting 31 grams of protein in my egg white shakes, and my breakfast of kale and eggs only provides about 15 grams of protein (though rich in other nutrients).

Between the steak, the shake and the kale and eggs, these three things are constant in my daily diet.  Add all that up, and I’m still only getting 102 grams of protein.  Dang, that’s only double the RDA, and in my mind, the RDA is always set low, and is certainly not set for athletes in training.  I need to find 86 more grams of additional protein from somewhere to make my number.

Beans and lentils are not allowed on the Paleo Diet.  Bummer, because they are rich in protein and good for you too.  I will do a few “tweaks” in this diet once the race is over to allow this sort of thing.

In the meantime, I’ll add in a spinach salad with nuts and seeds, some broccoli, and snack on canned sardines, tuna, salmon jerky (a Seattle favorite!) or even some smoked oysters.  But I’m beginning to appreciate the high protein content in the convenient protein bar.  Just bought one today with 20 grams of protein… and I didn’t step foot in the kitchen!  Awesome!!

My other trick is to add a scoop of protein powder to everything I eat!  How about pancakes?  Here’s a new recipe I’m going to try out in the morning…

http://www.bodybuilding.com/fun/docs/2012/banana-vanilla-protein-pancakes.pdf

Add vanilla protein powder to blueberry pancakes.  Hey… it’s still on the Paleo Diet… I’m using a sweet potato and egg white protein!  I’ll let you know how it turns out.

Time to bake my sweet potato for tomorrow…

Peace,

Kate

Leave a Reply

