“Maintenance” for 2014!

Posted: January 1, 2014 in Uncategorized
Tags:

I was at my CrossFit gym yesterday, getting in one more workout before the end of the year, and something very interesting happened: The instructor asked the class what their fitness goals were for the new year. Normally, when you ask a room full of people about their fitness goals right after a big holiday of eating and drinking, losing weight and eating better will be at the top of the list. But not today.

Français : Force athlétique (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

People just shrugged their shoulders and said “maintenance!” “…I want to maintain what I’ve got!” Welcome to a CrossFit box.

You all know I love kettlebells and encourage practically everyone I meet to try them, but this speaks volumes for CrossFit. We didn’t sit around and reel off the tired old new years resolutions about how much weight we needed to lose, and there were no complaints or excuses or sob stories. Just a bunch of people committed to exercise who will keep on keeping on. I love it! And it’s not that everyone is walking around with “perfect” bodies either. It’s just that they have achieved a level of fitness that allows them to enjoy life and they are happy with that.  I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again… CrossFit works! I don’t care how “busy” you are… anyone can fit a few CrossFit workouts into their week, and that’s half the battle, isn’t it?

For the last year and a half I’ve been supplementing my kettlebell workouts with CrossFit, and it’s been a great combination.  I’ve written about this before in previous posts, but there is something very empowering about achieving a level of fitness that helps you move through life easier.  Just the other day I took my son and his new bike to the park and he says “Mom, run along side me while I ride!” (I was glad I was up for that!) But you find yourself in a great position to say “yes” when your friends ask you to join their running team, or meet them for a swim, or go for a hike… you don’t ask “How far?”… you just say “Yes!” This level of fitness allows you to keep life interesting by always being up for trying new things and meeting new people.

Let’s commit to fitness and start signing up for some races in 2014.  …and put them on your calendar.  Remember last year’s post on Strategic Fitness Planning?

https://kettlebellhell.wordpress.com/2013/01/13/strategic-fitness-planning-for-2013

An Alcatraz swim is on my list this year… along with my usual stair climb up the Columbia Tower and swimming across Lake Washington.  I want to try SUP Yoga, and do a trail run somewhere high and beautiful.  A few triathlons would be fun… maybe as a relay.  I’m open to suggestions!

Here’s to a great year ahead, and happy swinging!

Peace,
Kate

Leave a Reply

