Be Strong in Your Convictions

Posted: January 4, 2014 in Uncategorized

Reblog from Jan 1012: Two years later, and people are still too damn busy for their own good! Probably even more busy. We’re too busy to understand ourselves and our convictions and our passions. Too busy to contemplate both our personal beliefs and to what extent we share them with others. Social media has brought about a culture of oversharing, but often in a hurried and scattered way. In 2012, the book I should have written was written by someone else. It’s called “A Mindful Nation”. Just reading the foreword of the book made me exclaim out loud: “Damn!”

“What’s wrong?” my husband asked from the next room. I told him I was reading another book I was meant to write. I hate it when that happens. Yes, I’m working on my book, but my writing ebbs and flows. In the meantime, I enjoy what others have invested their time in.

Congressman Tim Ryan has written an excellent book that reminds us how important it is to think and be mindful. He shows us how to start paying attention and prioritize what is important. As I read his book, it’s clear that practicing mindfulness and setting your intentions will improve performance, in all areas of your life. From the gym to the conference room. It’s a great reminder to be strong in your convictions. Always. Know who you are and what you believe in. That strength will serve you well.

Happy Swinging, and Happy 2014!
Peace. Kate

Cast Iron Strength

You already know how I feel about yoga and kettlebells.  Yin and Yang… perfectly matched, each one helps achieve a higher level of success at the other.  Today, I’d like to discuss a few things from my yoga practice.  At the start of every yoga class we’re always asked to set our intention. Our intention is something that will resonate through our practice.  It’s quite often something we want to work on… and then we are reminded to think of our intention throughout the class.

I always appreciate this part of class because it forces me to focus on something and be very present.

Today my intention was strength and compassion. I often feel like those are the yin and the yang of life.  I merge these two into a single phrase I can repeat: “Be strong, be compassionate, and be sure of yourself and your convictions.”  If there’s one thing that resonates true for me…

View original post 330 more words

Leave a Reply

